What seemed like a small information leak to Cambridge Analytica has not snowballed into a privacy infringement bringing Facebook under serious fir. Many Facebook users are even contemplating deleting their Facebook Accounts and quitting Facebook altogether. Asa matter of fact, notable names and companies like Cher, Steve Wozniak, Telsa, and Space X have already deleted their accounts.

What is the Facebook leak to Cambridge Analytica?

Facebook claimed that information of up to 87 million users on its platforms had been illegally obtained and used by the Cambridge Analytica to help in Donald Trump’s presidential campaign. The leak which is now seen to be larger than previously reported affected Facebook users mostly in the U.S

Cambridge Analytica is a data analysis and political consulting firm that helps stage political campaigns for aspirants of political office around the world. The information about the improper access to the data from Facebook user accounts was brought to the limelight by whistleblower Christopher Wylie who is a former employee of Cambridge Analytica.

How do I know if my information was leaked?

It is possible to know whether your information was improperly accessed by the Cambridge Analytica. Facebook said in a presser that they have released an online tool to help their users to know whether their information was accessed by the political consulting firm. In the press statement, the social media giant said they have started a process of notifying its users whether their information was stolen by Cambridge Analytica.

You will be able to see a notification on your newsfeed alerting you if your data has been compromised in any way.

You can also check for yourself whether or not your information was obtained. The leak is apparently attributed to an app called This Is Your Digital Life°. If you or your friends logged into the application then it is likely that your information was compromised. This being the case, Facebook is, however, unable to tell you which of your friends used the app.The app is of course no longer available.

How can I maintain privacy on Facebook?

The developments between Cambridge Analytica and Facebook are yet another reminder about your social media privacy. It is time you thought seriously about your Facebook privacy settings. You can secure your information without having to delete your account. These steps will help you better secure your personal information.

  1. Be wary of those game apps and quizzes

One way Cambridge Analytica was able to access user information was through personality quizzes. There are very many on the network these days and many users find them an interesting way to kill time If you are in any way inputting personal data on any third party app you are simply giving it away.

It is always a temptation to get and install the many third-party apps and games that are available through Facebook. Doing this allows those apps to get access to your personal information including your gender, name, friends list, networks, addresses and other such information.

  1. Your privacy setting

There are a lot of privacy settings available for users on Facebook. These are intended to help users to secure their personal information. Many users are however ignorant of the existence of these settings. To manage your settings, tap the drop-down arrow on the °Privacy° tab. From here, you can control who gets to see your posts, your addresses, phone number and basically any information on your accounts. You should consider changing these settings so that they work well for your privacy preferences.

  1. Check your friends list

You need to consider the kind of friends you have on Facebook. Your friends control who can see their friendships on their own timelines. When you are tagged in photos and posts they will be seen elsewhere that is beyond your control. It is therefore important that you have friends that are likely to be keen on their privacy settings let alone having the same interests like you have

  1. Turn on the extra security feature on your account

You can get more privacy and security by getting alerts when there is an unauthorized login from a device or a browser you don’t use You should also consider using the two-factor authentication so that a code is required every time you log in This code can be sent to your phone.

  1. Your tagging and timeline settings

You can always determine whether anyone can post something on your timeline or tag you in their posts. In the settings tab, select the Timeline and Tagging option. From there you can choose who should be able to post on your timeline and who can see those posts. You can choose to also review those posts and determine whether or not they appear on your timeline.

  1. Quit Facebook

Regardless of how careful you are on social media platforms there is always a loophole somewhere. The best way to be guaranteed privacy on Facebook is not to be there all together. You can always choose to deactivate your account or just leave the account dormant with an option of reactivating your account when you need it Leaving the account dormant means the data remains on Facebook servers by no one will be able to see or use it and that you cannot use your account unless you reactivate it Deleting your account means that you will not be able to recover the data and the account becomes non-existent.

Final word

The privacy on your Facebook is to an extent your personal obligation. The social platform provides you with what is necessary to ensure you can have your privacy preferences on the platform. All said and done, however, there is no guarantee that your personal data is absolutely private; not with hackers and people working for the social media platform who can compromise their integrity for whatever reason. The thing about Internet privacy and security is not to be on the Internet altogether. The only guarantee to total Facebook privacy is deleting your account altogether to be hundred percent safe.